Tuesday, August 20, 2013

NXNW 21 - GIVE BACK (vol. 2) - split release w/ 1859 Records

NXNW 21 has arrived, which you can find digitally here, and a limited screenprinted CD copy here.

GIVE BACK (vol. 2) is an international punk compilation aimed at raising awareness of, and financial support for, the efforts of the Lighthouse Farm Animal Sanctuary in Scio, Oregon (USA). 


Art by Keith Rosson.

This is the latest collaboration between NXNW and 1859 Records.

Check it out and consider contributing to the farm.  Thanks.

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

NXNW 20 - The Zombie House Chronicles

It's HERE! NXNW 20 w/ zine, tape, sticker & download code. 

Featuring a lot of great music from bands who played at the Zombie House (RIP), writing from folks involved with the Zombie House or peripherally, photos from shows and people at the Zombie House, flyers, artwork, E T C. 

Big thanks to everyone involved. 

Extra big thanks to Su Liu for the fantastic cover art.

Honorable mention goes to Walkman 5000, Aris Wales, Davey Death Ray and Ekatrina for the work, sweat, blood, tears and fun that went into running a show house.

Extra honorable mention goes to Robert Bartleson at Haywire for mastering and always giving NXNW a quality, professional, and personal touch.

This comp is a benefit for the following organizations, meaning that 100% of the proceeds will go to one of them: 

Portland Women's Crisis Line  


SMYRC/Q Center  

SARC Oregon  

WildCat Haven Sanctuary  

Please consider donating to one of them if, and when, you can.


Tuesday, April 30, 2013


Logo by Keith Rosson.

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Danger Death Ray - The Complicated Futility of Ignorance and Bliss

Greetings earth-dwelling inhabitants of a living green globe facing extermination,

We are obligated happy to announce our newest release to date: NXNW 19

Pay what you will here.

We don't want to brag about all the fine folks involved in the making of the album, but we will:

Jim Wadsworth – Lead Vocals (6, 12), Drums, Guitars (6, 12), Vocals
Jesse Van Sickle – Lead Vocals (11), Guitars (11), Mandolins (11), Vocals
Davey Death Ray – Vocals, Bass (10), Monologue (7)
Yarn F. Miners – Lead Vocals, Guitars, Basses, Piano, Autoharp, Organ, Percussion, Vocals
Rebecca Wood – Vocals, Viola & String Arrangements (3, 7, 8, 9, 13)
Chris Murra – Vocals, Lead Electric Guitar (2, 8)
Ekatrina Sotomayor – Vocals, Monologue (1), Jokes
Carrie Z – Vocals, DIO
Sam Fisher – Vocals
Vince Furrillo – Pedal Steel (2)
Christian Lyons – Trumpet (9)

Music by Danger Death Ray. Lyrics by Yarn, Jim.

Recorded and Produced by Danger Death Ray.
Mixed and Mastered by Robert Bartleson at Haywire Recording.

Illustrations by Whorehouse Lucky Nick Parmentier
from the book Bedtime for Kittums.

Layout/design by Jim Wadsworth & Yarn.

Friday, April 12, 2013

NXNW 18 - Sam Fisher - More Whine

Hello fellow-travelers on spaceship Earth (currently headed for disaster),

We are pleased as a punch aimed at a zombie's head to announce NXNW 18:

Sam Fisher - More Whine was a labor of lurve recorded by Yarn F. Miners that can be downloaded or purchased here.

Mixed and mastered by the masterful and humble Robert Bartleson at Haywire in SE PDX.

Cover photo by Keri Hughes.  Layout by Jeff Wester.

Sam sang, played acoustic and electric guitars, clapped, snapped, stomped, whistled, played the organ and wrote the songs (except for The Harder They Come by Jimmy Cliff).

Chris Murra played lead acoustic and electric guitars and sang.

Yarn played electric and upright basses, piano, harmonica, mandolin and sang.

Marshall McAlpine played drums on Well of Shame & Stay Awhile.

Rebecca Wood played viola and sang on The Harder They Come and It's the Climate.

Vince Furrillo played pedal steel on What's Left?

Davey Death Ray sang all over the place.

Ekatrina Sotomayor sang on Listen, Repeat, The Harder They Come, It's the Climate and the "jingle."

Roscoe barked.

Sam says hugs and love to one and all.  

Also, a super special thanks to Ferris Fisher without whom none of this would have been realized.

Monday, January 7, 2013

Danger Death Ray - Arousing More Than Suspicion

Hello fellow-travelers of spaceship earth,

Happy New Year!  E T C!

Our newest release NXNW 17: Danger Death Ray's Arousing More Than Suspicion, is now available for pay what you will download, CD and cassette (coming soon!)...

Art by Whorehouse Lucky Nick

Recorded by Danger Death Ray.  Mixed and mastered by Robert Bartleson at Haywire Recording.

Also, generous assistance was provided by Chris Grinder during the NXNW kickstart to make the CD and cassette happen.  Thanks Mr. Grinder!